First impressions

Sydney is like London and Hawaii smashed together.  People drive on the left side of the road, the architecture is beautifully European, and so is the language.  The buildings are painted tropical colors, the weather is perfect, and the city revolves around beaches populated with surfers and palm trees.

Yesterday, I finally got out to explore the city a little.  I went on a very touristy bus tour with a bunch of other international students.  It was a good way to get acquainted with the city, and we had plenty of opportunities for obligatory photo ops.  Mostly, though, the tour made me fall in love with Sydney.  It was only six hours, and all I really did was take pictures. Still, I’m already enchanted by the culture, the people, the places, and, mostly, the ocean.  I’m more confident than ever this is going to be a great four months.  Here, see for yourself.  You can click on the photos to make them somewhat bigger.  If I uploaded them at full resolution, we’d be here all day.  If you want one, though, let me know and we’ll talk.

(Disclaimer: I have never been to either London or Hawaii.  This is just what I imagine they would be like.)

Beautiful view of the harbor

Cruising across the Harbour Bridge

The Harbour Bridge and Opera House from Mrs. Macquarie's Chair, a lovely yet touristy spot

Surfing lessons on the world famous (or so I'm told) Bondi Beach

The beach is a half-moon shape, surrounded partially by beautiful Sydney on each side

The other side of the beach. I can't wait to spend a day there.

Our tour guide said this was the wealthy part of Sydney. Every house was strikingly unique and beautiful. Why can't American houses be this cool?

I don't remember the name of this park, but here's my tour group with Sydney in the background.

Blue. Just blue. As someone who's lived in the Midwest her whole life, I'm fascinated by the ocean.

The Gap is a beautiful park on top a cliff overlooking the city and ocean. I'll definitely be back there.

Can you find the Harbour Bridge?

Speeding across the bridge again on the way back to college.

Leave a Reply

